Antwerp City Tour

Antwerp ( [ˈæntwɜrp] (help·info), Dutch: Antwerpen [ˈɑntˌʋɛrpə(n)] (help·info), French: Anvers) is a city and municipality in Belgium and the capital of the Antwerp province in Flanders, one of Belgium's three regions. Antwerp's total population is 472,071 (as of 1 January 2008)[1] and its total area is 204.51 km², giving a population density of 2,308 inhabitants per km². The metropolitan area, including the outer commuter zone, covers an area of 1,449 km² with a total of 1,190,769 inhabitants as of 1 January 2008.[2]

Antwerp has long been an important city in the nations of the Benelux both economically and culturally, especially before the Spanish Fury of the Dutch Revolt. It is located on the right bank of the river Scheldt, which is linked to the North Sea by the estuary Westerschelde.